(Bring Them) Home for Christmas

christmas-42-naomi-patti-and-bear-21

One of the most popular Christmas songs is I’ll Be Home for Christmas, but few recall that the song is about war and the sadness of soldiers away from home.

Recorded in 1943 by Bing Crosby, during the darkest days of the Second World War, the song became the most popular Christmas song for American soldiers, sailors, and marines serving overseas. 

This Christmas, whenever I’ve heard the lyrics:

“I’ll be home for Christmas.
You can count on me.
Please have snow and mistletoe
And presents under the tree.
Christmas Eve will find me
Where the love-light gleams.
I’ll be home for Christmas
If only in my dreams”

I think about the American soldiers, sailors, and marines now serving in the war zones of Iraq and Afghanistan, and about their families missing them on Christmas morning.

I also think about the more than 4,000 American service men and women who won’t ever be coming home for Christmas.

I’m sure, like the rest of us, President-elect Obama has heard I’ll Be Home for Christmas countless times this season.

I hope he hears what I hear.

Merry Christmas (Peace on Earth).

Leave a Reply

